Joomla - Registration Reminder - Standard

Help - RegReminder Standard Install

Installation instructions for RegReminder .

1 – Unzip the file

2 - Installed the plg_regreminderx.x.x.x,zip (regreminder plugin)

3 – Install the com_regreminderx.x.x.x.zip (regreminder component)

4 - Go to your Regreminder component and configure the parameters

5 - Double check you parameters and only proceed to step 6 once happy that they are correct

6 – Go to your Joomla plugins and enable the “System - RegReminder Scheduler” plugin

7 – Go to the regreminder component and enable the scheduler (on the first tab of the parameters screen)

 

Help - RegReminder Standard

Note that the different version number now represent as follows

1.5.x.x - Joomla 1.5 Component

2.5.x.x - Joomla 2.5 Component

3.0.x.x - Joomla 3 Component

Security

1.5.1.x Only Super Administrators are able to send reminder notifications

Parameters

Parameters Tab

Days before next reminder is sent or user deleted - The number of days before a user can be deleted
Number of Reminders -The number of reminders sent to a user before they are deleted
BCC Admin - Blind cc the Website Administrator(s) for the reminder emails
Maximum Emails - This sets the maximum number of emails that can be sent in a single instance. This is important as many hosting companies have a limit on the number of emails that can be sent per hour (or day). By default this value is set to the low number of 20.

Scheduled Execution - Enable scheduled execution of this component. NOTE This will only work once the RegReminder Scheduler PLUGIN has been installed and is enabled.
Execution Type and Execution On - these parameters set up how regular the scheduler will run automatically.

Notes on the Scheduler - For the automated scheduler to work the regReminder "System - RegReminder Scheduler" plugin must be installed and enabled.
Automatic notifications are only sent for users who have not competed the registration process (eg "Incomplete Registrations" and "Users who have never login"). Technical Details on the Scheduler RegReminder uses the onAfterRoute event supplied by the Joomla framework. The onAfterRoute event is executed every time a request is made of the Joomla website. When the onAfterRoute event is executed in the RegReminder plugin it checks to see if the notifications have been sent, if not then they are sent. For example if you have the regreminder scheduler set to Weekly on Tuesdays then when a request is made of the website the plugin checks to see if today is Tuesday and if a reminder has already been sent. If no reminder has been sent then it will be executed.
Because the onAfterRoute event replies on traffic to your site, in the event that you do get traffic to your site then the automated event will not occur for that day

In-Active Registrations Tab

Delete Users - Set this to true to enable users to be deleted. Note that users will only be deleted if the number of days defined in the parameter 'Days before next reminder is sent or users deleted' has passed since the maximum number of notification have been sent.
Use Community Builder Activation - If you are using the Community Builder component on your website to manage users then set this option to 'yes' to create a valid link in the reminder email. By Default the Joomla registration/activation link is used
Email Subject - Subject line in email. Available merge fields are
[NAME] = Users Full Name
[SITE_NAME] = Webiste Name
Email Message = Email Body. Available merge fields are
[NAME] = Users Full Name
[SITE_NAME] = Webiste Name
[SITE_URL] = Website url
[USERNAME] = Username
[ACTIVATE_URL] = Activation url
[PASSWORD_RESET] = Password reset url
[OPTOUT] = optout link to be CAN-SPAM compliant. CAN-SPAM compliance. You now have the ability to include a opt-out link in the reminders ensuring you are Unsubscribe compliant (read more about CAN-SPAM at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAN-SPAM_Act_of_2003)

Users who have never logged in Tab

Enabled - Enable reminders for users who have activated their accounts be never logged in Delete Users - Set this to true to enable users to be deleted. Note that users will only be deleted if the number of days defined in the parameter 'Days before next reminder is sent or users deleted' has passed since the maximum number of notification have been sent.
Email Subject - Subject line in email. Available merge fields are
[NAME] = Users Full Name
[SITE_NAME] = Webiste Name
Email Message = Email Body. Available merge fields are
[NAME] = Users Full Name
[SITE_NAME] = Webiste Name
[SITE_URL] = Website url
[USERNAME] = Username
[PASSWORD_RESET] = Password reset url
[OPTOUT] = optout link to be CAN-SPAM compliant. CAN-SPAM compliance. You now have the ability to include a opt-out link in the reminders ensuring you are Unsubscribe compliant (read more about CAN-SPAM at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAN-SPAM_Act_of_2003)

User Reminders Tab

Days - Number of days that a user has not logged in for. Once this number of days has been reached a reminder email can be sent.
Email Subject - Subject line in email. Available merge fields are
[NAME] = Users Full Name
[SITE_NAME] = Webiste Name
Email Message = Email Body. Available merge fields are
[NAME] = Users Full Name
[SITE_NAME] = Webiste Name
[SITE_URL] = Website url
[USERNAME] = Username
[PASSWORD_RESET] = Password reset url
[OPTOUT] = optout link to be CAN-SPAM compliant. CAN-SPAM compliance. You now have the ability to include a opt-out link in the reminders ensuring you are Unsubscribe compliant (read more about CAN-SPAM at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAN-SPAM_Act_of_2003)

Instructions:

1 – Setup your parameters
2 – Click on the 'Registration Reminders' or 'Active User Reminder' toolbar button. This will display a list of users who will receive reminders. In the far right hand column (Action to Perform) it will display the action the component will take. The three possible actions available are No Action, Send a Reminder or Delete User. Note that none of these actions will be performed until the ‘Send Reminders’ toolbar button is pressed.
3 – Click the ‘Send Reminders’ toolbar button. Once this button is clicked Reminder emails will be sent and users deleted (if you have enable this in the Parameters screen. A list of the actions will be displayed when the button has been pressed.

Test Email

The Test Email toolbar button will send a test email to the logged in user.